Dark Souls creator wins Lifetime Achievement Award at Golden Joysticks

Dark Souls Golden Joysticks Miyazaki

Hidetaka Miyazaki – creator of Dark Souls, Bloodborne, and the upcoming Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice – won the Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s Golden Joysticks.

Picking up his prize in person, the FromSoftware President said: “It’s such a surprise and an honour to receive this prestigious Golden Joystick Award. I’m quite humbled.”

He was one of many deserved winners at the show, where the majority of awards are voted for by the public.

One of the night’s big winner was God of War, which took home a whopping five awards, including Best Storytelling and PlayStation Game of the Year. PlayStation UK’s Twitter account also shared this amazing gif to mark the occasion.

On top of that, Fortnite Battle Royale went home with Best Competitive Game and the Ultimate Game of the Year awards. Fortunately, no-one did the “Take the L” dance on stage.

The full list of winners can be found below

Best Storytelling: God of War
Best Competitive Game: Fortnite Battle Royale
Best Cooperative Game: Monster Hunter World
Best Visual Design: God of War
Best Indie Game: Dead Cells
Best Audio: God of War
Still Playing Award: World of Tanks
Best Performer: Bryan Dechart (Detroit: Become Human)
Esports Game of the Year: Overwatch
Best VR Game: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim VR
Studio of the Year: SIE Santa Monica Studio
Best New Streamer/Broadcaster: Amelia Rose Blaire and Bryan Dechart
Mobile Game of the Year: PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile
PC Game of the Year: Subnautica
PlayStation Game of the Year: God of War
Xbox Game of the Year: Forza Horizon 4
Nintendo Game of the Year: Octopath Traveler
Breakthrough Award: Unknown Worlds (Subnautica Developers)
Most Wanted Game: Cyberpunk 2077
Critics Choice Award: Red Dead Redemption 2
Lifetime Achievement: Hidetaka Miyazaki
Outstanding Contribution: Xbox Adaptive Controller
Ultimate Game of the Year: Fortnite Battle Royale